What is current Oregon law?
What about the administrative law judge provision?
In the cases of rape, incest or sexual predators, won’t parental notification bring these people to justice?
Shouldn't teens talk with their parents about the decision to have an abortion?
Oregon law already requires minors 14 years old or younger to obtain parental consent before any medical treatment. For older teens who are 15, 16 or 17 years old, the law permits them to obtain medical treatment, including abortion, without parental notification. A doctor is permitted to notify a parent without the teen’s consent if the doctor believes it would be in the best interest of the teen.
The backers of Measure 43 say that an abused teen could avoid the government mandated notification by going to an administrative law judge. In reality, it’s not that simple. This “by-pass” mechanism in Measure 43 throws teens in crisis into a bureaucratic maze, just when they need help the most. Under this measure, she would plead her case to a DHS bureaucrat with no training in handling cases of sexual abuse, reproductive health or domestic violence.
In Oregon, doctors, nurses and other medical providers are already required to notify law enforcement whenever they suspect abuse or rape. Measure 43 does not change these laws in any way. It has no requirement to involve law enforcement in these situations and the complicated judicial [by-pass] procedure may actually keep trusted adults out of the process.
Most teens do talk to their parents when faced with a pregnancy. But in the real world, some teens can’t talk to their parents because they live in homes filled with domestic violence or abuse. Forcing a government mandated letter to be sent into those homes is like throwing fuel on the fire. [Those teens need the help of caring, supportive adults and will get that from medical professionals and counselors.]